Thanksgiving, What We Hold Dear

1 Dec

Wow….wait a minute. It’s Thanksgiving already? Where did the time go? Life is so complicated, fast and sometime unforgiving. But it’s the Holidays now. So bring out the cheer, vacation time and self-indulgence of all our society has to offer.

I look to my wife for inspiration. A budding new American; a professional Mexican woman, who gave up her dental practice and University Professorship to come live in America. She’s my Thanksgiving and Christmas all rolled up in one.

Thanksgiving night after getting home from a day with my family, her family now; she told me she’s had a long conversation with one of her brothers back in Aguascalientes, Mexico. She recounted in her good English and my bad Spanish, how the Narcos had killed several people in her hometown and that a bus accident had killed over 20 people from the township she had lived in. People she knew had died in that terrible accident.

Between the bus accident and Narcos in a five-year long War on Drugs in Mexico that has cost 50,000 lives, the innocent and the damned. I don’t know which is worse.

How my wife was able to put on a happy face, have fun, eat and be merry on Thanksgiving with such heavy news on her heart, I don’t know.

So here’s to you Miriam…I Love You, Happy Thanksgiving, Happy Holiday and May the world be better than place than yesterday.

Leave a Reply

